Rejection Only Makes You Stronger, Right?

Change is scary; and major changes such as your relationship status or career moves are even scarier.  But doing nothing, living in a way you don’t actually care about or want, I think that’s worse.

I entered a few short stories in writing contests recently.  So far, two have been rejected.  It sucks.  And I SUCK at handling rejection.  When I got those emails, I wanted to stay in bed and eat Snickers Ice Cream Bars for the rest of the month.  But, alas, I did not.  Honestly, I would be pissed if I got fat from a couple of critics telling me my writing sucks.  I’ll get fat on over-priced steaks and loaded baked potatoes after I retire.  But not just yet…

I started two more short stories this past week.  I’ll attach them to my next post, if I finish them.  I have a lot of unfinished stories.  I don’t think any critic could be as hard on me, as I am on myself.  J.K. Rowling was rejected a whole mess of times before Harry Potter was finally picked up; and she isn’t the only writer to go through difficult times.  You can let me know how good/bad my  stories are.  Either way, I plan to keep writing.

Ahhh and so far…New York City is treating me very well! Everyone should visit at least twice.  I say twice because there is so much to see and so much to do, one visit isn’t enough.  Plus, sometimes weather is bad, trains are down, cabbies are rude…but not always.  Two visits will give you a better taste.  And if NYC isn’t the city for you, try another one. Try another country.  After all, you’re only young once, right?

Leave a Reply

